U18 DIV 1A – Castlebridge 2 : Corkbeg 5

corkbeg afc

Corkbeg travelled to Brides Bridge on a glorious Saturday afternoon. Spirits were high after a great result last weekend down in Youghal, which saw Corkbeg and Youghal share the points.

Corkbeg started like they meant business and should’ve taken the lead early on. A Cian Maguire run down the right hand side started the move, he passed to Gift and Gift played a defense-splitting through ball to Josh Leahy, who took a touch and hit it with fierce venom, but the Castlebridge goalkeeper made a fine stop to keep the game scoreless early on. Against the run of play, the home side took the lead. The goalkeeper played a long ball over the Corkbeg defence, John came out and caught it, but then as he fell to ground, the ball became loose and hit off a Castlebridge player and fell to a player in an offside position, but unfortunately for the Beg the offside wasn’t given and the goal stood.

The Castlebridge goal drove the Beg on and the away side started to dominate the game. Just eight minutes after going behind, Corkbeg equalised. Great play from Gift Obiwuru, his tricky feet getting the better of 3 or 4 Castlebridge players, he passed it to Cian Keohane, who slipped the ball through and Sam Murphy made no mistake while finishing his opportunity well. 1-1.

Corkbeg attacked once again; this time through Jay Wilson and David Hickman down the left hand side- Killian found Josh Leahy in space , and as you may already know, Josh (pictured) is a goal-machine, so he drove home beyond the Castlebridge goalkeeper, giving Corkbeg a 2-1 lead after sixteen minutes.

On twenty minutes, Corkbeg were forced into a substitution which saw David Hickman being replaced by the ever-willing Oisin McGovern. Corkbeg added a thirdgoal in the 31st minute. it all started in goal from John Manning. His goal kick was flicked on excellently by Killian O Driscoll, Josh Leahy ran onto the flick and somehow finished superbly into the bottom left hand corner from a tight angle. The Corkbeg defenders Jay Wilson, Sean Deasy, Conor o Brien & Cian Maguire were all on hand to sniff out any danger to see Corkbeg go into the break with a 3-1 lead.

Corkbeg hydrated themselves on a warm day and started the second half slower than they finished the first half. Castlebridge slowly worked their way back into the game and had a few wayward attempts on goal that didn’t trouble John; the Corkbeg goalkeeper. On sixty minutes Castlebridge were rewarded for their hard work. A great ball down the line split the Corkbeg defence and the Castlebridge number 7 ran one on one with John, he attempted to square the ball to his teammate who was on the six yard box, but the unfortunate Cian Maguire( who worked his socks off to track back) turned the ball into his own goal. Corkbeg’s lead was reduced to a single goal. 3-2.

After this goal, Daniel Murray was introduced to the game, replacing Killian O Driscoll. Daniel did well when he came on and had a goal wrongly ruled out for offside. A great finish by Daniel into the bottom corner was ruled out, despite the referee admitting his error, the game stood at 3-2. Minutes later Oisin McGovern went close to adding to Corkbeg’s lead with a left foot strike.

Corkbeg did add to their lead with seventeen minutes remaining, when Gift Obiwuru once again beat numerous of defenders on his solo run. He ran into the box, where he pulled it back to the edge to the six yard box, where Sam Murphy blasted home to add to his previous goal today.

In the 75th minute, Josh Murray was brought on to replace Sam, which saw Josh go up front. Corkbeg sealed the win when Cian Keohane played a one-two with Gift; Cian got the ball back and scored a great goal from outside the box. Corkbeg saw out the rest of the game and ran out 5-2 winners.

Great performance today lads. Man of match to Cian Keohane. The Beg travel to Mallow next Saturday at 2pm.

Corkbeg Team: John Manning (C), Cian Maguire, Sean Deasy, Conor O Brien, Jay Wilson, Gift O Biwuru, Killian O Driscoll, Cian Keohane, David Hickman, Josh Leahy & Sam Murphy.

Corkbeg Subs: Oisin McGovern for David Hickman, Daniel Murray for Killian O Driscoll, Josh Murray for Sam Murphy.

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on Linkdin
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

Close Menu