Corkbeg FC

Understrength Corkbeg Upset by Carrigtwohill ‘B’

Shane Bennett came closest to scoring for Corkbeg

Corkbeg exited the County Cup at the 3rd round stage with a 1-0 defeat after extra time by local rivals Carrigtwohill B in Ballyadam on Sunday afternoon. Carrigtwohill, despite being a division lower than Corkbeg, thoroughly deserved their win on the day, completely outplaying a Corkbeg side shorn of a number of regular starters. In fact, three players made their Corkbeg debuts on the day. The game was played with regular snow flurries throughout and a bitterly cold wind blowing across the pitch, which made good football pretty tough.

Carrigtwohill were quick into their stride and early on, David Williams delivered two brilliant balls into the Corkbeg area that only needed a touch, but both narrowly missed the far post. But Corkbeg responded and probably should have taken the lead within the opening 25 minutes. Twice, Shane Bennett found himself clear through on goal with Carrigtwohill goalkeeper Ben O Leary, but twice his lobbed efforts bounced wide of the gaping goal. And soon after, Bennett again made a great run into the area, only to see his low shot brilliantly turned away by O Leary, with Calum Fletcher failing to net the rebound. O Leary also saved bravely at the feet of Rob Fletcher, who put in a great shift all day, as he bore down on Jordan Tynans through ball.

But shortly after that, it was Corkbegs goal which lived a charmed life. David Barry, who once again was brilliant for Carrigtwohill over the ninety minutes, was upended in the box, but Tom O Briens penalty kick was saved. From the resulting corner, Shane Kennedys bullet header was taken off the line by Dylan Casey. Just before half time, another close escape for Corkbeg, as Kevin O Sullivans close range header was touched up onto the crossbar and away to safety.

Carrigtwohill completely dominated the second half. Despite having the wind advantage, they never resorted to hoofing or launching long balls and some of their approach play was very good. Everything seemed to go through David Barry. And they had plenty of chances too. Countless chances. Maciek Bezcek had a curling shot saved and soon after, saw another one pushed onto the post. David Williams also had a couple of long range efforts and a Dylan O Neill clearance inadvertently crashed against the inside of his own post, rolled across the goal-line and away to safety. Corkbegs make-shift back four of Ian Casey, Fred Wenham, Dylan O Neill & Dylan Casey were working miracles against the constant onslaught. Dave Barry struck the bar with an inswinging corner kick and substitute Richard Dowling shanked a ball wide from 10 yards with the goal at his mercy. Within the last five minutes, twice Carrig thought they had won it. First, a Carrig attacker bore down on goal, but his shot was saved and the ball fell nicely for John Wade, who missed the far post by inches. The game somehow remained scoreless after 90 minutes.

It was Carrigtwohill who did the early pressing in extra time and Kevin O Riordan saw his free kick pushed against the crossbar, as Corkbegs goal continued to be cursed for the home side. At the end of the first period, finally a bit of life in Corkbeg and Ben O Leary saved well as Jordan Tynan fired in a shot from a narrow angle. And Corkbeg almost got a winner in the second period, when Dylan O Neills brilliant approach work & Cein O Driscolls pass, set up Jordan Tynan to draw a great save for O Leary.

With three minutes remining in extra time, finally a goal. Corkbeg switched off from a quick Carrigtwohill throw, Maciek Bezcek got around the back and pulled a great ball back from the byline, for Richard Dowling to poke home the winner from 8 yards. It was no more than the home side deserved.

Corkbeg: P. O Reilly, D. Casey, D. O Neill, I. Casey, F. Wenham, S. Bennett, J. Ryan, J. Tynan, R. Fletcher, C. O Driscoll, C. Fletcher. Sub: K. Ryan for C. Fletcher(95mins)

Carrigtwohill ‘B’: B. O Leary, P. Wade, K. Deady, T. O Brien, S. Kennedy, D. Barry, M. Bezcek, J. Wade, K. O Riordan, K. O Sullivan, D. Williams. Subs: P. O Brien, R. Dowling, D. Murphy, I. Pospeich, G. Murphy, O. O Leary.